• CASES

    Search by

Braen v. UPS SCS inc.

Executive Summary: Key Legal and Evidentiary Issues

  • Pierre Braen claimed that UPS SCS inc. breached a contractual obligation to cover 100% of his medical and dental expenses from his 1996 retirement until age 85.
  • Central to the dispute was whether UPS was personally obligated to reimburse unpaid health costs, or whether its obligation was limited to maintaining a group insurance policy.
  • Documentary evidence — including letters from 1997, 2001, and 2014, as well as a 2017 transaction — established coverage under a group insurance plan, not a direct personal payment commitment by UPS.
  • A prior default judgment from December 2021 (dossier 505-32-704476-200) was found to have no binding authority over the new claims under Article 563 of the Code of Civil Procedure.
  • Each refused reimbursement — for a dental prosthesis, COVID diagnostic tests, a vaccine administration fee, and excess dentist fees — was found to fall within reasonable exclusions and limits of the Manulife insurance policy.
  • No bad faith or malicious intent on the part of UPS was established, and Braen's claims for compensatory and moral damages were dismissed accordingly.

 


 

Facts of the case

Pierre Braen, the plaintiff, retired in 1996 from Fritz Starber, a company later acquired by UPS SCS inc. (UPS) in 2001. At the time of his retirement, Braen alleged that his employer agreed to reimburse 100% of all his medical and dental expenses until he reached age 85. Over the years, he pursued multiple legal proceedings against UPS to enforce this entitlement. The present action, filed in May 2023 before the Court of Québec, Small Claims Division, sought recovery of unpaid health expenses incurred between September 2021 and September 2022, totalling $1,579, as well as $8,000 in compensatory damages for alleged wilful and abusive breach of contract, and $5,000 in moral damages for stress, insecurity, anxiety, and administrative burden caused by what Braen characterized as bad faith conduct by UPS. The total claim amounted to $14,579, plus interest and court costs.

Policy terms and contractual clauses at issue

The original 1996 retirement agreement had been lost by both parties, requiring the court to rely on secondary documentary evidence. Key documents included a July 17, 1997 letter from Fritz Starber's human resources manager confirming the continuation of the "group insurance plan" in the "retiree" category and coverage of medical claims until Braen's 85th birthday; a January 15, 2001 letter confirming 100% reimbursement of prescription drugs, excluding over-the-counter medications; a December 4, 2014 letter from Roger Gervais, former director at Fritz Starber, confirming that the March 1996 retirement agreement provided Braen with "group insurance privileges" (medical, travel, dental, vision) until age 85; and, critically, a transaction concluded on July 24 and 27, 2017, in which UPS committed to maintaining insurance coverage until Braen's 85th birthday, confirmed that Manulife had been designated as the primary payer (in place of the RAMQ), and agreed to uphold the principles reflected in the 1997 and 2014 letters. This 2017 transaction carried the authority of res judicata between the parties.

The Manulife group insurance policy in effect contained standard exclusions, including the administration of injectable products, medications deemed ineligible following due diligence review, fertility drugs, smoking cessation products, and obesity medications. It also imposed reimbursement guidelines that capped coverage at defined benchmark amounts.

Court's reasoning and analysis

The court first addressed the evidentiary standard, noting that the burden of proof rested on Braen under the preponderance of evidence standard. Because the original 1996 written agreement had been lost, the court examined secondary documents, ultimately finding that they established coverage under a group insurance plan — not a personal payment obligation by UPS. The court distinguished between UPS's commitment to maintain insurance coverage and any alleged direct obligation to personally reimburse health costs that the insurer declined to cover.

Regarding the December 16, 2021 default judgment (dossier 505-32-704476-200), the court found that, pursuant to Article 563 of the Code of Civil Procedure, small claims judgments carry res judicata only with respect to the parties and the specific amount claimed in that proceeding. The judgment could not therefore be invoked to support the new claims relating to expenses incurred after that earlier proceeding.

On the specific refused reimbursements, the court found each refusal to be reasonable: the $1,344 balance for a dental prosthesis was not covered because Manulife had reimbursed $2,686 for a standard prosthesis and Braen had chosen a more sophisticated option; the $74 and $99 COVID diagnostic test fees were excluded under a standard policy provision that excludes services that would have been covered by a public health plan; the $15 vaccine administration fee was excluded because the policy explicitly excludes administration of injectable products; and the $47 dentist fee overage arose because the dentist charged above the applicable 2022 fee schedule, with Manulife having reimbursed the scheduled amount. The court found these exclusions and limits to be reasonable and consistent with the spirit of the original agreement. Braen failed to prove that the policy limits were excessive or that they distorted his retirement entitlement.

Ruling and overall outcome

The court dismissed Braen's claims in their entirety, finding that he had not proven entitlement to the unpaid health expenses nor to the compensatory and moral damages sought. No bad faith or malicious intent on the part of UPS was established. UPS SCS inc. was the successful party. The court ordered Braen to pay court costs of $209.

Pierre Braen
Law Firm / Organization
Not specified
UPS SCS Inc.
Law Firm / Organization
Not specified
Court of Quebec
505-32-707086-238
Civil litigation
$ 209
Defendant