• CASES

    Search by

KEL Design & Procurement Corp. v Springbok Electric Limited

Executive Summary: Key Legal and Evidentiary Issues

  • KEL Design & Procurement Corp. sought enforcement of a builders' lien for $169,861.37 against holdbacks retained under the Builders Lien Act (BLA) after Springbok Electric Limited failed to pay for materials supplied to the Shato Improvement.
  • Central to the dispute was whether a lower-tier supplier could enforce its lien not only against the immediate holdback but also against holdbacks retained higher up the contractual chain.
  • Pro-Can and Shato argued that s. 34 of the BLA capped KEL's recovery to its pro-rata share of the Pro-Can Holdback of $78,300.42, effectively barring access to the Shato Holdback.
  • Interpretation of ss. 4(9) and 34 of the BLA was required to determine whether the multiple holdback system permits enforcement against holdbacks at every level of the construction pyramid.
  • Springbok's dissolution mid-proceedings required adjournment of relief sought against it, leaving Pro-Can and Shato as the live respondents.
  • No authority was identified supporting the proposition that a lien claimed against a higher-tier holdback is unenforceable simply because a lower-tier holdback exists.

 


 

Facts of the case

KEL Design & Procurement Corp. ("KEL") is a lighting and electrical supplier to the construction industry. It entered into two supply agreements with Springbok Electric Limited ("Springbok"): one on or about March 1, 2021, for the supply of lighting and electrical materials to an improvement on the Nicolaou Property at 2619 East Hastings Street, Vancouver (the "Nicolaou Improvement"); and another on or about January 31, 2022, for materials to an improvement on the Shato Property at 8210 Ross Street, Vancouver (the "Shato Improvement"). Pro-Can Construction Group Corp. ("Pro-Can") was the general contractor for both improvements, and Shato Holdings (PCTC1969) Ltd. ("Shato") was the registered owner of the Shato Property.

For the Nicolaou Improvement, KEL supplied materials between July 2021 and January 2023, but Springbok failed to pay, leaving an outstanding balance of $15,284.61 as of February 23, 2023 (the "Nicolaou Debt"). KEL filed a claim of lien on June 14, 2023, under registration number CB687524. Pro-Can subsequently applied to court and obtained an order cancelling that lien upon posting cash security of $15,284.61 with its solicitors, Jenkins Marzban Logan LLP. KEL received that security on July 23, 2024.

For the Shato Improvement, KEL supplied materials between July 2022 and March 2023, and Springbok again failed to pay, leaving an outstanding balance of $169,861.37 (the "Shato Debt"). KEL filed a claim of lien on June 14, 2023, under registration number CB687525. Pro-Can applied to court and obtained an order cancelling that lien upon posting a lien bond — the "Shato Security" — which stood as security for KEL's lien claim. There were two other liens filed against the Shato Property: a lien by Sonepar Canada Inc. (which was subsequently settled) and a lien by Springbok itself for $192,414.43, filed June 15, 2023, which was later reduced to $80,872.96 by an amended order dated August 23, 2023.

On December 19, 2024, Pro-Can and Shato confirmed that the Pro-Can Holdback retained from Springbok totalled $78,300.42, and Springbok admitted it did not dispute the Shato Debt and agreed it should be paid from the Shato Holdback. At the commencement of the November 27, 2025 hearing, counsel for KEL advised the court that Springbok had been dissolved effective May 23, 2025. Relief against Springbok was adjourned, and the remaining issue proceeded as between KEL, Pro-Can, and Shato.

Statutory framework and policy terms at issue

The case turned on the interpretation of two provisions of the Builders Lien Act, S.B.C. 1997, c. 45 ("BLA"). Section 2 of the BLA grants a lien to contractors, subcontractors, and workers for the price of work or materials supplied, to the extent that price remains unpaid, against the owner's interest in the land, the improvement itself, the land, and any materials placed on it. Section 4 imposes a mandatory 10% holdback obligation on each level of the contractual chain, requiring every party primarily liable under a contract to retain that amount. Section 4(9) then charges each holdback with payment of "all persons engaged, in connection with the improvement, by or under the person from whom the holdback is retained." Section 34, in turn, caps the maximum aggregate amount recoverable by lien holders claiming against the same contractor or subcontractor at the greater of: (a) the amount owing to that contractor or subcontractor by the person who engaged them, and (b) the amount of the required holdback in relation to that contract.

The court also considered the "Shimco lien" principle, established in Shimco Metal Erectors Ltd. v. Design Steel Construction Ltd., 2002 BCSC 238, affirmed 2003 BCCA 193, which recognizes a separate lien against holdbacks that does not need to be registered against title and survives the extinguishment of the lien against land.

Court's reasoning and analysis

Justice Forth applied the modern approach to statutory interpretation, requiring the words of the BLA to be read in their full context, in their grammatical and ordinary sense, harmoniously with the scheme and object of the Act. The court found the text of s. 4(9) clear: each holdback is charged with payment of all persons engaged in the improvement by or under the person from whom the holdback is retained. It was undisputed that KEL maintained a lien against the Shato Holdback under this provision.

The court disagreed with Pro-Can and Shato's central argument that s. 34 rendered KEL's lien against the Shato Holdback unenforceable. Citing Hi-Tide Shoring & Foundations (2012) Ltd. v. Chandos Construction Ltd., 2024 BCSC 903, and Greater Vancouver Sewerage and Drainage District v. A-Millenia Construction Ltd. et al., 2006 BCSC 1629, the court held that s. 34 does not limit the maximum recovery by lien claimants generally — it only sets out the maximum amount recoverable by lien claimants claiming from the same contractor. It addresses liability of a specific payor to a defined class of claimants, and does not govern the separate, independent lien rights arising under s. 4(9) against holdbacks at other levels of the chain.

The court further found no authority supporting the proposition that a subcontractor's lien against a higher-tier holdback is unenforceable simply because a lower-tier holdback exists. Such an interpretation, the court reasoned, would be inconsistent with the plain text of s. 4(9) and would undermine the legislative purpose of the multiple holdback scheme: to encourage the downward flow of money through the construction pyramid and to give meaningful security to lower-tier participants. The court also drew support from Kingdom Langley Project Limited Partnership v. WQC Mechanical Ltd., 2025 BCCA 169, which confirmed that the holdback system serves to both limit liability for payors and create a fund for unpaid claimants.

Ruling and overall outcome

The court granted KEL's application and declared it entitled to a lien in the amount of $169,861.37, enforceable concurrently: (a) against the lien bond posted by Echelon Insurance pursuant to the order of June 27, 2023; (b) against the Pro-Can Holdback on a pro-rata basis, subject to s. 34 limits on Pro-Can's maximum liability; and (c) against the Shato Holdback for any shortfall, on a pro-rata basis, subject to s. 34 limits on Shato's maximum liability — with total recovery from all sources capped at the principal amount of $169,861.37. KEL was also awarded interest in accordance with the Court Order Interest Act, R.S.B.C. 1996, c. 79, though no specific dollar amount of interest was stated in the judgment.

KEL Design & Procurement Corp.
Law Firm / Organization
Not specified
Lawyer(s)

J. Roberts

Springbok Electric Limited
Law Firm / Organization
Not specified
Pro-Can Construction Group Corp.
Law Firm / Organization
Not specified
Lawyer(s)

C. Moore

Shato Holdings (PCTC1969) Ltd.
Law Firm / Organization
Not specified
Lawyer(s)

C. Moore

Supreme Court of British Columbia
S04589
Construction law
$ 169,861
Plaintiff