• CASES

    Search by

Leader Heating & Plumbing Inc. v. Aragon (Wellesley) Development (Ontario) Corporation

Executive Summary: Key Legal and Evidentiary Issues

  • Aragon sought a further reduction of Leader's lien security from $525,000.00 to $149,265.21, arguing that Leader's method of calculating its lien was unsupportable.
     
  • Leader opposed any further reduction, relying on Aragon's admitted unpaid contract balance of $817,269.08, plus HST, which exceeds the existing security.
     
  • Central to the motion was whether Leader's lien calculation properly accounted for the $6,029,833.74 in payments Aragon had already made.
     
  • Disagreement also arose over whether delay-related costs should be based on Leader's October 2023 invoice or its own expert's later figures.
     
  • Whether Leader's lien should be pro-rated across all 179 units and limited to the nine units actually liened was identified as a novel, unresolved issue.
     
  • No binding admission was found regarding pro-rating, leaving that question, along with the ultimate quantum of the lien, to be determined at trial.

 


 

Facts of the case

Leader Heating & Plumbing Inc. ("Leader") was contracted to perform mechanical work on a thirty-storey, 179-unit condominium building in Toronto developed by Aragon (Wellesley) Development (Ontario) Corporation ("Aragon"). The project was significantly delayed, and Leader preserved a lien for $3,428,906.28. Because the condominium plan had already been registered and the property subdivided by the time the lien was registered, Leader registered its claim against only nine of the 179 units — those still owned by Aragon — even though its work spanned all units and predominantly the common elements. Leader's lawyers later confirmed the lien comprised $833,464.35 for outstanding invoices and $2,595,411.93 for additional labour, materials, and costs, the latter figure derived largely from a delay claim, profit, and overhead. Aragon obtained an ex parte order vacating the lien with full security posted into court. Following a cross-examination of Leader on its lien, the parties negotiated a consented reduction of security to $475,000 for the lien and $50,000 for costs. Aragon subsequently brought this motion for a further reduction, from $525,000.00 to $149,265.21, on the basis that Leader's lien calculation was unsupportable.

Policy and legislative provisions at issue

The motion was governed by the transitional provisions of the Construction Act, RSO 1990, c C.30, which preserve the application of the former Construction Lien Act ("CLA") to this project by operation of s. 87.3. Section 50(2) of the Construction Act was noted as the basis for applying the Rules of Civil Procedure, RRO 1990, Reg 194, including rules 54 and 55 governing references, with the motion heard under rule 54.05(1) due to the referee's unavailability. Aragon relied on s. 44(5) of the CLA, which permits the court to reduce security posted with the court "where it is appropriate to do so." The court also applied s. 17(1) of the CLA, which limits a lien to the amount actually owing for services and materials supplied to the improvement, meaning payments already received must be deducted when calculating a lien's value. Subrule 51.06(1) of the Rules of Civil Procedure, concerning admissions, was considered in evaluating whether Leader's characterization of its own calculation as "correct" amounted to a binding concession. The court also drew on its own prior decision in Cancore Production Ltd. v. Hau, 2021 ONSC 1027, as well as Chesney v. Malamis, 2023 ONSC 1742, Structform v. Ashcroft, 2013 ONSC 4544, and Ledcor Construction Limited v. Canalfa Liberty Village Homes Inc., 2008 CanLII 87009, for the test governing reductions of lien security.

Reasoning and analysis

The court held that Leader's method of calculating its lien — starting from the total contract price and crediting only a $250,000 payment for Change Order #3 — failed to account for the $6,029,833.74 that Aragon had, on the undisputed evidence, already paid, and was therefore unsustainable under s. 17(1) of the CLA. The court preferred the parties' agreed figure of $817,269.08, plus HST, as the unpaid balance of the contract. On the delay-related claim, the court accepted Aragon's position that Leader's own expert report, rather than Leader's earlier October 2023 invoice, should govern, given that the invoice itself reserved the right to amend its estimates and Leader's own affiant had expressly adopted the expert's figures. The court excluded head office overhead of $472,529 and professional fees of $25,000 as non-lienable, arriving at a maximum lienable delay claim of $1,759,480. However, the court found insufficient evidence to determine whether payments for Change Orders #4 and #5 (totalling $225,000) were already subsumed within the $6,029,833.74 already accounted for, meaning it could not accept Aragon's proposed further deduction of those amounts. On the question of pro-rating the lien across all 179 units rather than the nine liened units, the court found that Leader's own materials had used a pro rata calculation and characterized it as "the correct calculation," but concluded this did not meet the stringent legal test for a binding admission, particularly given the prior consent reduction was a negotiated resolution rather than a concession. The court determined that whether a lien could be pursued in full against only some units of a multi-unit project, or must be pro-rated, was a novel issue on an incomplete evidentiary record, better addressed at trial.

Ruling and overall outcome

The court dismissed Aragon's motion. Because a triable issue existed as to whether Leader's lien should be pro-rated across all 179 units, and because the parties agreed the unpaid contract balance of $817,269.08, plus HST, already exceeded the existing security, the court held that the current lien security should not be further reduced pending trial. Leader was the successful party on the motion, and the existing security of $525,000.00 (comprising $475,000 for the lien and $50,000 for costs) remained in place; no further monetary amount was ordered, granted, or awarded to either party on this motion. Costs of the motion were reserved, with the decision directing the parties to attempt to settle costs and, failing agreement, to exchange written costs submissions by August 7, 2026 (Leader) and August 21, 2026 (Aragon).

Leader Heating & Plumbing Inc.
Law Firm / Organization
Torkin Manes LLP
Lawyer(s)

Luigi Iantosca

Aragon (Wellesley) Development (Ontario) Corporation
Law Firm / Organization
Not specified
Lawyer(s)

D. Morawetz

R. Scott

Superior Court of Justice - Ontario
CV-23-711196
Construction law
Not specified/Unspecified
Respondent