• CASES

    Search by

Royal Bank of Canada v. 2309136 Ontario Inc.

Executive Summary: Key Legal and Evidentiary Issues

  • The court considered whether a debtor's right of redemption could override a receiver's court-approved sale of receivership property.
     
  • Timing of the Debtors' assertion of redemption weighed heavily in the balancing analysis required by Court of Appeal authority.
     
  • Justice Black assessed whether the Debtors' financing evidence met the "cash in hand" standard needed to interfere with a completed sale process.
     
  • A redacted commitment letter containing a lender's right of first refusal raised questions about the true purpose of the proposed financing.
     
  • Imprecise wording in a law firm's trust letter further undermined the Debtors' claim of readiness to redeem.
     
  • Conduct concerns, including a criminal charge against the Debtors' principal, were raised but were not ultimately determinative of the outcome.
     


Facts of the case

Royal Bank of Canada brought this application under subsection 243(1) of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act and section 101 of the Courts of Justice Act, seeking the appointment of a receiver over 2309136 Ontario Inc. and 2738400 Ontario Inc. (the Debtors). One of the Debtor companies operated a trucking and logistics business under the name Indo-Canadian, which had not been active since February or early March 2026 [the endorsement does not specify which of the two named Debtors corresponds to the shorthand "273," or which entity operated Indo-Canadian]. That entity, "273," owned the Steeles Avenue Property used in the trucking operation. The Debtors' financial difficulties arose from investments by two related companies, referred to as 278 and 283, in properties in Ridgetown, Ontario — investments cross-guaranteed by the Debtors. Rising interest rates and failed sale attempts compounded those difficulties. Following an August 2025 demand by RBC, 278 and 283 entered agreements to sell the Ridgetown Properties (and a related Strathroy property) to parties connected to the Assignee, 1001557980 Ontario Inc., but the September 15, 2025 closings did not occur because RBC would not permit partial discharges without payment of the full debt, then about $10.2 million. The purchasers had nonetheless taken possession and begun renovations. The Receivership Order was granted February 23, 2026, without opposition from the Debtors, but did not extend to the Ridgetown Properties due to opposition from Assignee-related parties holding agreements of purchase and sale for those properties. On April 9, 2026, the Assignee paid out and took an assignment of RBC's interest to facilitate the Ridgetown purchases. On May 11, 2026, the court authorized a sale process for the Steeles Property, calling for offers by June 30, 2026. The Assignee's credit bid was ultimately selected among 11 offers received. Separately, the Ridgetown dispute escalated in parallel Chatham proceedings, including a lien registered by a would-be purchaser and an incident in which Mr. Chauser, principal of the Respondents, was charged criminally after allegedly threatening parties at the Ridgetown site with a firearm. The Respondents first requested a payout statement in June 2026, specifically on June 12, after the sale process had already been approved and was underway, and did not fully articulate an intention to redeem until bringing the motion before Justice Black.

Policy and legislative provisions at issue

The application proceeded under subsection 243(1) of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act and section 101 of the Courts of Justice Act. Substantively, the motions engaged the common-law tension between a mortgagor's equity of redemption and a receiver's ability to complete a court-approved sale. The court applied the framework in Royal Bank of Canada v. Soundair Corp. for assessing the integrity of a receivership sale process, and the Court of Appeal for Ontario's guidance in Rose-Isli Corp. v. Smith that redemption should not be permitted to interfere with a sale conducted consistently with Soundair principles. Two further factors from the caselaw governed the analysis: the timing of the attempt to redeem, discussed with reference to BCIMC Construction Fund Corporation v. The Clover on Yonge Inc., and the requirement that a party seeking to redeem show up with "cash in hand," drawn from Reciprocal Opportunities Incorporated v. Sikh Lehar International Organization and Cameron Stephens Mortgage Capital Ltd. v. Spotlight on Lawrence Inc.

Reasoning and analysis

Justice Black found the Debtors fell short on both governing factors. On timing, the Receiver was appointed in February 2026, the RBC debt was assigned in April, and the sale process ran from May through June without opposition, participation, or a stay request from the Debtors; a payout statement was not sought until June 12, 2026, well after bidders had incurred the expense of submitting offers. Waiting until after the Receiver had identified a successful bidder and executed an agreement of purchase and sale created the conditions the Court of Appeal has warned could make a "mockery" of receivership sale procedures. On the "cash in hand" requirement, the Debtors relied on a redacted commitment letter omitting the lender's identity, which the court found inconsistent with the transparency expected of a party seeking to redeem. Several features of that letter deepened the court's concerns: it referenced undisclosed "definitive Loan Documents," it required security registration against properties (including the Ridgetown Properties) apparently prohibited by an existing order of Justice Hebner, and it contained a clause granting the lender a right to purchase or a right of first refusal over the properties. The Assignee suggested this last clause functioned as a "Trojan Horse" protecting an undisclosed interest, a concern the court found was not fully answered by the Debtors' explanation. A law firm's trust letter confirming $13.5 million held "in furtherance of the redemption amount(s) owing," language the court described as odd and imprecise, did not resolve the uncertainty. The court noted, but did not need to resolve, an additional argument that the Respondents lacked "clean hands" given their non-responsiveness to interrogatories and Mr. Chauser's conduct at the Ridgetown site.

Ruling and overall outcome

Justice Black declined to grant the redemption relief sought by the Debtors, finding their evidence of financing too uncertain and their assertion of the right too delayed to justify disturbing the completed sale process. The court instead granted the two orders sought by the Receiver, approving the proposed transaction as reasonable, appropriate, and consistent with the Soundair factors — a result favouring the Receiver and the Assignee, who by that point held the assigned RBC debt and security. The endorsement does not order or quantify any monetary award, costs, or damages; while the outstanding debt was referenced as about $10.2 million as of September 2025, and the Debtors' trust letter referenced $13.5 million held toward redemption, neither figure was ordered or awarded by the court in this decision, and no specific amount was granted or assessed.

Royal Bank of Canada
Law Firm / Organization
Aird & Berlis LLP
2309136 Ontario Inc.
Law Firm / Organization
CP LLP
2738400 Ontario Inc.
Law Firm / Organization
CP LLP
Fuller Landau Group Inc.
Law Firm / Organization
Chaitons LLP
Lawyer(s)

George Benchetrit

1001557980 Ontario Inc.
Law Firm / Organization
Reconstruct LLP
100124619 Ontario Inc.
Law Firm / Organization
Reconstruct LLP
1001242548 Ontario Ltd.
Law Firm / Organization
Reconstruct LLP
100426764 Ontario Inc.
Law Firm / Organization
Reconstruct LLP
Superior Court of Justice - Ontario
CL-25-00753582-0000
Bankruptcy & insolvency
Not specified/Unspecified
Other