• CASES

    Search by

Pillar Capital Corp. v. Horseshoe Valley Ranch Ltd.

Executive Summary: Key Legal and Evidentiary Issues

  • Pillar Capital Corp. sought an order nisi against Horseshoe Valley Ranch Ltd. and three individual guarantors over unpaid loan facilities secured by mortgages on Peace River land.
     
  • Respondents advanced defences including improvident realization of auctioned equipment and an alleged criminal interest rate, prompting a hybrid evidentiary process rather than a full trial.
     
  • Evidence supporting the improvident realization defence, including an appraiser's letter and a comparison of appraised to realized equipment values, was found insufficient to establish the defence.
     
  • Minor discrepancies between the loan balances stated in different affidavits filed by the petitioner were noted, with the court expressing hope the parties could resolve them without Registrar involvement.
     
  • Section 19 of the Law and Equity Act was applied to pause interest accrual for a period during which the petitioner failed to provide statements or a reconciliation of equipment sale proceeds.
     
  • Ultimately, an order nisi was granted with a standard six-month redemption period, and each party was left to bear its own costs given the mixed result.
     


Facts of the case

Pillar Capital Corp., an Alberta-based lender, advanced funds to Tyran Transport Ltd. under a Loan Agreement dated January 22, 2016, comprising two facilities: Facility One for $2,280,000 and Facility Two for $520,000. Horseshoe Valley Ranch Ltd., along with Elvern Kenneth Esau, Stacy Elvern Esau, and Leanne Alma Esau, guaranteed the debt and secured their guarantees with mortgages over parcels of land in the Peace River district of British Columbia. Tyran defaulted, and on November 16, 2022, Pillar sought an order nisi and judgment on the outstanding debt. The respondents raised several defences and asked that the matter be referred to the trial list. In the first set of reasons, Justice Loo found that the misrepresentation and Interest Act defences could not succeed but that the improvident realization and criminal interest rate defences, along with the calculation of the amount owed, raised triable issues to be resolved through a hybrid process rather than a full trial. The improvident realization defence concerned equipment Pillar had seized and sold at auction between April 11 and April 13, 2019, some of which was advertised without registration information for about a month before most listings were corrected the day before the sale.

Policy and legislative provisions at issue

Several statutory and contractual provisions framed the dispute. Rule 22-1(7)(d) of the Supreme Court Civil Rules governed whether the petition should be converted to a trial. Section 347 of the Criminal Code was invoked in relation to the alleged criminal interest rate, while section 8 of the Interest Act was raised but ultimately waived by Pillar. Under the Loan Agreement, paragraph 2.5 provided that Pillar's account records constitute conclusive evidence of indebtedness absent "manifest error," and paragraph 9.21 was found not to govern the treatment of monitoring fees, which instead fell under paragraph 2.2. In the final decision, section 19 of the Law and Equity Act, which requires interest to be calculated to the date of redemption "unless exceptional circumstances exist," was central to the respondents' argument for an interest pause, and section 33 of the Property Law Act was cited for the principle that a mortgagee must provide a payout statement on request. Section 16(2) of the same Act governed the length of the redemption period.

Reasoning and analysis

Applying the Court of Appeal's guidance in Cepuran v. Carlton, 2022 BCCA 76, Justice Loo held that a hybrid process within the petition, rather than conversion to an action, was proportionate to resolve the triable issues. In the misrepresentation claim, an email describing proposed loan terms was found not to constitute an actionable misrepresentation, as it addressed future contractual intentions rather than present facts. On the criminal interest rate issue, the respondents initially relied on an analysis by Stacy Esau but later reframed their position to argue that a criminal rate would arise only if the improvident realization defence succeeded and the debt were adjusted upward. Regarding improvident realization, the respondents relied on a letter from equipment appraiser G. Blake Joiner and a table comparing appraised to realized values. The letter was found inadmissible for the truth of its contents and, in any event, did not address the fact that most equipment listings had been corrected before the auction. The appraised-value shortfall was reduced from $123,750 to $42,750 after correcting an entry that had erroneously recorded a zero realization value, and the petitioner's evidence that similar shortfalls occurred on equipment unaffected by the registration issue undermined any inference of causation. As a result, neither defence was made out, and no adjustment was made to the amount owed. Turning to the final decision, the respondents' bid to have the guarantees discharged was rejected because they identified no misconduct by Pillar that had materially increased their risk as guarantors. However, applying section 19 of the Law and Equity Act and following Genesis Mortgage Investment Corp. v. Blais, 2026 BCSC 178, the court found exceptional circumstances warranting an interest pause: Pillar had provided no statements or reconciliation of the April 2019 equipment sale proceeds between April 2019 and February 2022, despite an obligation to do so. On the redemption period, the court preferred Pillar's formal appraisal of the land over an unlicensed "opinion of value" advanced by the respondents, but found that the ordered interest pause would likely restore sufficient equity to the respondents to justify the standard six-month period rather than a shortened one.

Ruling and overall outcome

Pillar was the successful party on the two substantive defences addressed in the 2025 decision, with the respondents' improvident realization and criminal interest rate defences both dismissed; no monetary adjustment was made, and the determination of costs was deferred pending final resolution. In the 2026 decision, the respondents succeeded in part, obtaining a pause in the accrual of interest on both loan facilities from April 30, 2019, to February 3, 2022, and a standard six-month redemption period, while their application to discharge the guarantees was dismissed and an order nisi was granted in Pillar's favour. Given this divided success, the court ordered that the parties bear their own costs. No global monetary award was quantified in these reasons: the amounts owing under Facility One ($792,693.04) and Facility Two ($3,305,097.93) were figures agreed between the parties as of the 2026 hearing, subject to the interest pause, rather than sums awarded by the court, and the precise financial effect of that pause was not calculated in the judgment.

Horseshoe Valley Ranch Ltd.
Law Firm / Organization
Bridgehouse Law LLP (BHL Vancouver)
Lawyer(s)

Benjamin La Borie

Elvern Kenneth Esau
Law Firm / Organization
Bridgehouse Law LLP (BHL Vancouver)
Lawyer(s)

Benjamin La Borie

Stacy Elvern Esau
Law Firm / Organization
Bridgehouse Law LLP (BHL Vancouver)
Lawyer(s)

Benjamin La Borie

Leanne Alma Esau
Law Firm / Organization
Bridgehouse Law LLP (BHL Vancouver)
Lawyer(s)

Benjamin La Borie

Pillar Capital Corp.
Law Firm / Organization
Not specified
Lawyer(s)

J.B. Ross

Law Firm / Organization
Gowling WLG
Lawyer(s)

Amarit Bains

Supreme Court of British Columbia
H220064
Banking/Finance
Not specified/Unspecified
Other