• DEALS

    Search by

Alliance de l’énergie de l’Est s.e.c., Kruger Energy Inc. and Potentia Renewables Inc. close $521 million financing for Saint-Paul-de-Montminy wind farm

On August 13, 2026, Alliance de l’énergie de l’Est s.e.c., together with project partners Kruger Energy Inc. and Potentia Renewables Inc., closed a $521 million syndicated financing for the Saint-Paul-de-Montminy wind farm in Québec. The international lending syndicate was led by Mouvement Desjardins and KfW IPEX-Bank. The financing supports construction of the project, which is being developed through Saint-Paul-de-Montminy Wind Farm Inc., a joint venture involving the three project partners. 

The wind farm will have an installed capacity of 196 megawatts and comprise 28 turbines located in the municipalities of Saint-Paul-de-Montminy and Sainte-Apolline-de-Patton, within Québec’s MRC de Montmagny. Construction had already begun when the financing was announced and was expected to accelerate following financial close. Electricity delivery to Hydro-Québec is scheduled to begin in December 2027. The host municipalities are expected to receive more than $20 million in payments over the project’s operating life, allocated according to the generating capacity installed in each municipality. 

The project previously received authorization from the Government of Québec on February 25, 2026. The sponsors stated that the construction phase would support more than 250 jobs, while the completed facility would add renewable generation to Québec’s electricity system. Osler, Hoskin & Harcourt LLP advised Alliance de l’énergie de l’Est s.e.c. on the financing through a Montréal-based team comprising Étienne Massicotte, Jean-Christophe Leduc and Nathalie Beauregard. 

Company

Saint-Paul-de-Montminy Wind Farm Inc.

Law Firm / Organization
Not specified

Company

Alliance de l’énergie de l’Est s.e.c.

Company

Kruger Energy Inc.

Law Firm / Organization
Not specified

Company

Potentia Renewables Inc.

Law Firm / Organization
Not specified

Company

Mouvement Desjardins

Law Firm / Organization
Not specified

Company

KfW IPEX-Bank

Law Firm / Organization
Not specified
Financing/Investment
Energy
$ 521,000,000
Closed
13 August 2026