• DEALS

    Search by

Enbridge closes $3 billion common share offering, inclusive of underwriters' full over-allotment exercise

Enbridge Inc. closed a public offering of common shares on September 14, 2026, raising approximately $3 billion in gross proceeds. The offering was first announced on September 9, 2026 as a bought-deal transaction for 38,900,000 common shares at $66.85 per share, for gross proceeds of approximately $2.6 billion, led by a syndicate of underwriters headed by RBC Capital Markets and CIBC Capital Markets, with Scotiabank, BMO Capital Markets, TD Securities Inc., and National Bank of Canada Capital Markets as joint bookrunners. An underwriting agreement was entered into on September 10, 2026. The underwriters were granted an over-allotment option for up to 5,835,000 additional shares, which they exercised in full, bringing total shares issued to 44,735,000 and gross proceeds to approximately $3 billion. The offering was made concurrently in Canada, under a short form base shelf prospectus and prospectus supplement filed on SEDAR+, and in the United States, under an effective shelf registration statement on Form S-3 (File No. 333-289186) and a 424B5 prospectus supplement filed with the SEC. Enbridge stated it intends to use net proceeds to partially fund previously announced acquisitions (including the Tallgrass Energy and Salt Creek Midstream transactions) and to create financial flexibility for future growth. The U.S. prospectus supplement's "Validity of Common Shares" section identifies McCarthy Tétrault LLP (Calgary) and Sullivan & Cromwell LLP (New York) as counsel to Enbridge, and Osler, Hoskin & Harcourt LLP (Calgary) and Baker Botts L.L.P. (Houston) as counsel to the underwriters. 

Company

Enbridge Inc.

Company

RBC Dominion Securities Inc.

Law Firm / Organization
Not specified

Company

RBC Capital Markets

Law Firm / Organization
Not specified

Company

CIBC World Markets Inc.

Law Firm / Organization
Not specified

Company

CIBC Capital Markets

Law Firm / Organization
Not specified

Bank

Scotia Capital Inc. (Scotiabank)

Law Firm / Organization
Not specified

Company

BMO Nesbitt Burns Inc. (BMO Capital Markets)

Law Firm / Organization
Not specified

Company

TD Securities Inc.

Law Firm / Organization
Not specified

Bank

National Bank Financial Inc. (National Bank of Canada Capital Markets)

Law Firm / Organization
Not specified
Public/Private Offering
Infrastructure
$ 3,000,000,000
Closed
14 September 2026